Welcome to
Epilepsy South Africa
Western Cape

Epilepsy Information

Online Counsellor

Please email our online counsellor with any epilepsy related questions to info@epilepsy.org.za

Epilepsy South Africa community on HealthUnlocked

Quick Quiz

Play our Quick Quiz on Epilepsy
and see if you are informed?

Click here to play


The Western Cape Branch was established in 1969 and has been running successfully for 43 years. With a full-time staff compliment of twenty one, we aim to be dynamic in our approach and available to provide the relevant service. We are here to help you, as a person with epilepsy, or those affected by the condition, to understand epilepsy and we urge you to make use of our specialized services, links and resources.



Mario Da Costa Chairperson Lecturer CPUT M N
Esme Kennel Vice Chairperson Retired Deputy Director Dept Health F Y
Lindsay Kearns Treasurer Chartered Accountant M N
Yumna Herman Vice Tresurer Accountant F N
Ntandaza Mange Board Member Person with Epilepsy M Y
Mpo Johannah Keikelame Board Member Lecturer UCT F N
Prof Roland Eastman Board Member Specialist Neurologist M N
Michael Bagraim Board Member Labour Law Specialist M N
Dr. James Butler Board Member Speialist Neurologist M N
Sharon Bowers Worker Representative Person with a disability F Y
Brandon Cloete Worker Representative Person with epilepsy M Y
Marilyn Abrahams Worker Representative Person with epilepsy F Y
Akhona Jaxa Worker Representative Person with epilepsy M Y
Kevin Johansson Advisor Foodbasket for Africa M N
Loni Hutshison Advisor Siyakha Consultancy F N


Regional Office:      
Wendy Nefdt Director F N
Glynis Rhodes Assistant Director F N
Anthea Emmanuel Senior Social Worker F N
Ndileka Mandaba Senior Social Worker F N
Ruth Nugent Senir Social Worker F Y
Zanab Baker Social Worker F N
Virginia Tati Social Worker F Y
Nontsomi Mayika-Madyo Social Auxiliary Worker F N
Sharon Rabie Social Auxiliary Worker F N
Siphokazi Nyebelele Community Development Worker F N
Imreen Ebrahim Financial Accountant F N
Berenice Berry Office Manager F N
Kim Daniels Administrative Secretary F N
Matutu Clementine Mqweshi Housekeeper F Y
Care Craft Lansdowne:      
Raymond Southgate Workshop Manager M N
Wayne Kleinsmidt Workshop Foreman M N
Victor Messeur Workshop Supervisor M N
Deidre Michels Administrative Secretary F N
Care Craft Mitchell's Plain:      
Roger Delport Workshop Supervisor M Y
Ruth Pasja Workshop Assistant Supervisor F N
Care Craft Wellington:      
Nicolette Heydricks Workshop Supervisor F N