Epilepsy SA Educational Trust

The Epilepsy South Africa Educational Trust was established in December 1998. The founding Trustees (Kathryn Pahl, Amelia Jones, Donald Campbell, Mzolisi Toni, Vusi Mahlasela and Jocelyne Kane-Berman) embraced the vision and together perused and assessed numerous applications from all over South Africa.

The Trust exists solely to provide financial support for tertiary education to promising and talented students with epilepsy. Although only able to provide part-bursaries, the Trust’s support to students has been making a life-changing difference for nearly two decades.

Dr Amelia Jones

Dr Amelia Jones (Chairperson) qualified as a social worker in 1969. She spent the first 25 years of her career as a Probation Officer and gained experience at Child Welfare, Nicro and Epilepsy South Africa. She joined the Community Chest of the Western Cape in 1993 and was appointed as Chief Executive in 1997, until retiring in 2013. Dr Jones has chaired the Epilepsy SA Educational Trust for more than a decade.

Prof Roland Eastman

Prof Roland Eastman MBChB served as head of the Division of Neurology, Department of Medicine, Groote Schuur Hospital and UCT. He also served as a Board member of Epilepsy South Africa, President of the Neurology Association of South Africa (NASA) and President of the South African Chapter of the International League Against Epilepsy (ILAE)

Mrs Karen Robinson

Mrs Karen Robinson served as the National Social Development Manager of Epilepsy South Africa, having previously worked for more than a decade as an Occupational Social Worker in the South African National Defence Force. Mrs Robinson holds a Master’s Degree in social sciences and is registered with the SA Council of Social Service Professions.

Mr Mbulelo Bikwani

Mr Mbulelo Bikwani is the former CEO of the Desmond & Leah Tutu Legacy Foundation and Chair of Council of CPUT. His numerous Board and Trust duties include; Keymix Investments, Continuation Pension and Provident funds, Cookhouse Windfarm Community Trust, iGen Education Trust and he is Founding Chairperson of the Isiseko Family Institute. Currently he is the Executive Director of Sucgrate Consulting Services and holds a B Juris degree from UWC.